Hawk wargames – Dropzone Commander


Ok it’s my turn now 🙂

Well I am going to keep the whole Salute chat to the minimum. What a great day! Great company and great event!

What I really want to concentrate on is Hawk Wargame’s 10mm Sci-Fi game Dropzone Commander, touched on in the previous post by ZombiePirate. Let’s start with a picture:

null

WOW! Just WOW!

There have been few moments in my wargames history that I walk around a show and my jaw’s hit the floor; this is one of those rare occasions. Hawk Wargames, a one man band working tirelessly for two and a half years, sculpting, building and painting this impressive display of miniatures.

null

There are currently 4 factions (named below) to start with. Each as impressive as the next with about 20 options for each (based on memory) ranging from infantry, hand sculpted in metal, to tanks, walkers and fliers; all in resin.

Faction names:

  • The UMC (United Colonies of Mankind)
  • The Scourge
  • The Shaltari Tribes
  • PHR (Post-Human Republic)

They plan to release a picture every day until the launch (so far the two above). I know I cannot wait and I am sure you cannot as well so here are some pictures I took on my phone:

null

null

null

null

…and my favourite:

null

Also Hawk Wargame are releasing a range of stunning buildings. These are tile basesd (about 1” square) and can be combined to make loads of different buildings to create an absolutely stunning modular cityscape.

There is a rule set in the works with plans to release on the launch date 16.07.12 with pre orders available on 01.06.12 that I think will make or break this game onto a new level. Confused? Let me explain.

Fantastic miniatures can sell independently we all know this and many companies do so very well; Hasselfree and Hersey to name but two. But there are a few barriers to entry. 10mm is not a popular Sci-fi scale, 15mm is the preferred and has a strong market with things like Gruntz, GZG and Critical Mass. So in my humble opinion the rules set has to be more than just a simple game to draw in the crowd in the numbers I hope it does.

Personally, I would love to get to play test and see how the rules work prior to making any financial commitment in a new 10mm scale sci-fi game. That seems to be the consensus of the group and my fellow gamers on the interwebs.

Even the designer said when asked about price range that they will not be cheap and would be comparable to just under a 40k army, which is not a small expenditure. I can only hope he means before the price rise?!? Not sure which one of the many I mean 😛

At least they appear to be no “Failcast” which I joked with the game designer about. 🙂

More to come as I watch to see how this game develops…

www.hawkwargames.com

5 thoughts on “Hawk wargames – Dropzone Commander”

  1. Pingback: 6 Inch Move
  2. I hope he didn’t mean that a single army in Drop Zone Commander would be comparable in price to a 40K army. That just seems mind boggingly expensive for a resin game in this scale, at least to me.

    1. I know what you mean. It’s just one of the many unknowns with this game. I really hope they get it right as I see a lot of potential here. Copying GW’s price model though isn’t likely to win many fans, nor convert them from a game system they already have and their friends have. I mean, why pay the money for a game system no-one else is playing at your club if you could just get a different 40k/Fantasy army and have a host of people to play with?

    2. Yes you make a fair point, I also hope this will not prove to be a sticking point with the game it looks amazing. However with quality comes price, it’s one of those sad facts of life, as long as it’s not too much, and the game is excellent, we all seem to be able to afford it 🙂 I know I do.

      Look forward to many more stunning images as I add updates as and when I can get them and please everyone, share your thoughts 🙂

      That’s what we are here for 🙂

Comments are closed.