Every So Often….


…something comes up that is so stupid you have to wonder about the thought processes that went into it!

As I’ve documented here on this very blog I finally gave GW the boot earlier this year. It wasn’t an easy decision at the time and, on rare occasion, I wonder if I was too rash. Then I remember all the reasons that prompted my decision and feel very happy and secure in what I did.

However, that doesn’t mean that I’m going to completely ignore what the biggest name in the hobby is doing. What has been of interest recently is the “End Times” story arc in Warhammer Fantasy. It’s certainly shaking up the game with its changes to army composition as well as throwing out some monstrous new kits for people to shell out on. These are progressing a story arc, reintroducing some old favourites and costing a lot of money (I had to get in a price jab when talking about GW or the Internet would eject me).

For the most part this has been for me the kind of curiosity similar to when you see a car crash, or something else going on where you’d like to know the story behind it. So, I’ve been happy to watch people snap up additional books for the game at £40 a throw and then splurge on new kits costing yet more again. I’m not going to talk about whether or not this is justified, that’s down to the individuals who are buying, it’s just a little steep for me when I consider where my money is now going.

However, this latest End Times release was a tough one. It was Elves. As anyone that knows me, um, knows, Dark Elves are like my all time most favourite of Fantasy races, I’ve had several armies of them over the years and even had Dark Eldar in 40k too. So, when there was a new book coming out that would maybe cover a unification of the warring Elf factions. Well, you can see how my interest was piqued. Despite my misgivings about GW and their future I went to take a look at the website after receiving the preview email of what was coming up.

SOLD OUT! Yea, that’s right, day 1 in the early hours of Saturday morning the pre-order was no longer available. I’d not entertain the notion of the collectors edition, but that was sold out too.

These same books that even Wayland are showing as “Unavailable” on their pre-order section are showing up on eBay going for over £100…. and I thought GW direct were pricey.

I cannot believe that a company the size of GW is doing something like this, such a limited release that there don’t even seem to be things going to retailers (I know there is no love lost between GW and independent retailers). So, for anyone that wanted one of these rather expensive army lists (let’s face it that’s what they are with or without the story) you’re now forced into paying over twice the price of what you could get in store (if you’re lucky and your store has one), or, even worse, was a collectors edition I saw going for over £500!

Yes, the value of anything is what people are willing to pay and once again GW punters seem to be showing they don’t really value their money or are just so addicted/enamoured with this company that they blinker themselves into justifying their purchases.

I think them being sold out did me a favour.

/rantoff

One thought on “Every So Often….”

  1. It starts with a pretty book, the next thing you know you’ve ceased hygiene practices, grown a neckbeard and are spending all your cash on cheetos and plastic crack, sounds like a lucky escape!

Comments are closed.