You Wait Ages for a Bus…


…then, as the adage states, two come along at once. Except, in this case, we’re not talking about public transport. No, we’re talking about no holds barred, miniature scaled combat with metal, plastic and in some cases resin, toy soldiers. The way real men choose to fight!

It was rather surprising then, that with the dearth of gaming through the halls of the floating citadel that we managed to get some chaps together twice in as many weeks. A feat unheard of in our recent history.

We kicked off the first of these gaming days on the patio of the ZombiePirate wing, the weather has been rather glorious in sunny old England of late so we took advantage of it. Something my arms and back of the neck were less than happy about by the evening. Gribblin and I threw down with our first proper game of 6th edition 40k, he with his newly pimped out 2000pts of Eldar and me with the same value in a heavily Slaanesh themed (what else did you expect?) Chaos Space Marines. We had a three objective game and went at it with our usual gusto. Being the first game of an edition that has changed a lot of the how the game plays we did mess up a few things, however, looking back on it I don’t think anything we got wrong would really have had a bearing on how things turned out. Gribblin pulled off a convincing win and I learnt some valuable lessons about the new CSM.

  • Chaos Bikers are awesome, especially backed up by a Feel No Pain banner
  • Eldar Shuriken Catapults are rather nasty now
  • Dark Reapers don’t like Plasma Cannons
  • Noise Marine weapons make me giddy with glee at how amazing they can be
  • Diagonal deployment zones are a pain in the ass
  • Sorcerers are still fun to use
  • ZOMG Heldrakes!

I had a really enjoyable game, it was such a pleasure to play that I hadn’t even noticed the fact I couldn’t win the game until turn 5. Winning or losing really was just icing on a very tasty gaming cake though. I look forward to getting some more use out of my Chaos and tweaking the list after a few more games have gone by.

In the second week we also returned to 40k. Again, it was Gribblin and I, however, this time I pulled the dirty on him and took my Dark Eldar for a spin. One of the reasons that I haven’t played much of the new 40k is that I wasn’t really sure what would become of my beloved sadomasochistic hedonists. I needed to buy another few transports to make the army work at the new points level and that led to a few nights of putting together some more models. However, it was all worth it. After a very close and bloody game the previous week this one was far more one-sided. Eldar of both flavours are armies where you really need to have things work together and bide their time to strike in the right place. A few mistakes can very quickly lead to the complete dismantling of your army. I’ve played enough games with my Dark Eldar to be confident in what they can do, I took my time and prepared lanes of attack. That patience paid off as I’ve learnt how being too aggressive and impetuous can put you in a bad situation. By the end of the game I had completely destroyed the entirety of Gribblin’s Eldar, there was nothing left at all. It was a two objective game and I held both at the end, as well as Slay the Warlord, First Blood and Linebreaker. I did feel slightly sorry for him as things just went so well for me and units did what they were meant to do.

We both had spells of good dice and ill so there wasn’t really any one-sided luck to ruin things. The army for me just brought home how powerful a Raider load of Splinter shots can be, especially with Splinter Racks to back you up. The highlight of the game for me was the first of my two Razorwings firing off its monoscythe missiles and scoring 36 wounds out of 38 hits (one of my definite “good dice” moments).

I really like 6th edition. It is rather different to 5th in many ways and is a lot more brutal (or, at least our games have been). 40k was the first tabletop game I played other than family favourite Space Crusade so the universe is what birthed my hobby obsession. As often as I’ve tried to leave it behind it won’t let me and I have two very different armies for it now so can enjoy the game a number of ways (and play it with myself if I really want to).

These two weekends were not just filled with GW fanboism though. Gribblin brought along Star Trek Fleet Captains and I have to say that the game is a lot of fun and very definitely has that Star Trek feeling to it. While in the first game we crushed the Federation beneath the iron shod boot of the Klingons the second game didn’t go nearly so well. I’ve bought the Romulan expansion for it so that I can get to play my favourite race now though so it’ll be Tal Shiar agents all round in our next game.

Speaking to the various members of our group there does seem to be a lot more activity happening with our hobby desires and this can only be a good thing. Hopefully we can now go on and end the dry spell we’ve been having over the past year and get back stuck into some serious gaming.

2 thoughts on “You Wait Ages for a Bus…”

  1. The Eldar/Dark Eldar game was painful to play…guess your guys really lived up to their character

Comments are closed.