WAR Declared!


As some of you may have noticed, it’s been mighty quiet, from me certainly. After all the buzz around DropZone Commander I have still failed to get a game or paint anything, it’s been nearly a year since we first saw them at Salute, which is on again 20th April.

Since then I have been concentrating on board or pre-painted games, I know heresy. Although I do love X-Wing, more on that later in another post in the future.

War-Declared

So after a few conversations with my fellow 6inchmove gamers we have decided to do some small scale games. After a bit of discussion we decided on WW2 and the bolt action rules. While not the most accurate in the world and perhaps stylized in the vain of the great GW monster, and army list based over scenarios, I agreed. I have been a fan of the period since a small kid playing with Airfix models and soldiers.

I had a large US Army squirreled away in the extension but have always loved the German uniforms, especially the camouflage and that of the SS, while I have no interest in the political side of them or the terrible things committed in the past, this was purely aesthetic and wargaming orientated. Hell we all need a bad guy and I guess that was me. Hmmm I also found some British infantry, British Commandos, US Para’s, I do seem to collect a lot of unpainted lead. We have  working on his American Infantry and  with British Commando’s and our choice of scale, 28mm

I have looked high and low for decent Waffen SS minatures and came down to a choice of Artizan Designs and Bolt Action from Warlord Games, I went with Artizan as they IMO just looked cleaner and nicer overall. However I noticed they did not actually do Waffen SS miniatures but do late war Germans instead. So I went with those. A thing to note about them is that although they do wear smocks they do not have helmet covers, most SS units were issued with helmet covers, so I plan to sculpt some of my own.

I placed my order with Great Escape Games (http://www.greatescapegames.co.uk/) as they were cheaper than getting them direct from North Star and I got a great discount, they have all sorts of deals available. Boxed units and army deals, saving a few £’s is always good. I also ordered a tank from Die Waffenkammer (http://www.diewaffenkammer.com/) more on that in another post (plus I am keeping it secret so I can surprise them in a game)

So I am now busily painting away, trying to catch up with  and his Yanks.

I have to say it’s nice going back into WW2, getting into the historical research again, looking into uniforms and armour, weapons etc, it’s like being a kid again. I look forward to bring you some reviews and painted examples in the future and share some of my experience of putting together a WW2 game of Bolt Action…

Cheers

Carabus

bolt-action-rulebook-front-cover

2 thoughts on “WAR Declared!”

    1. LOL. Me? No. I hate power gaming

      It’s just a basic tank, real basic, most common tank at that time in WW2 1944.

      I though about a StuG III and an armoured car, I have one of those two as well 🙂

Comments are closed.