Das Boot – The Definitive Film About Staring at the Ceiling


Do submarines even have ceilings?

I have finally fulfilled a long term ambition of mine to watch Wolfgang Petersen’s submarine epic ‘Das Boot’ ALL THE WAY THROUGH IN ONE GO. It’s a truly excellent film which had me gripped from beginning to end. Which is quite astonishing really because it has a very limited cast in a very limited space and most of the time not very much is happening. The acting is strong and the tension is palpable as the submarine’s raison d’etre is being target practice for British depth charges.

If I had been in charge I think I would have had a slightly more upbeat ending. The ending is by no means weak but it did seem a bit tangential and unexpected.

Anyway, top marks all round!

EDIT: Refers to Director’s Cut Edition

One thought on “Das Boot – The Definitive Film About Staring at the Ceiling”

Comments are closed.