Dropzone Commander – Painting the PHR Athena WiP – Pt 2


So there has been a lot of support for my attempts at a digital cammo, thank you all 🙂

I have taken the Athena a little further adding some weathering and adding cammo to the bottom of the aircraft, it looks a little shiny as I have added coats of varnish to protect the initial layers and allow the enamel wash to flow better, have a look:

I used the Mig Productions Dark Wash on the Athena and I think it came out a little too dark for my liking, so I have been looking for something that should work better with the Greys and blues I have used. I found a product from AK Interactive that I hope will work, the AK072 Early Panzers Weathering Set

AK 072 Early Panzers Weathering Set
AK 072 Early Panzers Weathering Set

“We have designed this set for all those modellers who love early German vehicles, or to put it another way, all those painted in Panzer Grey. The set includes all the basic products you need to do a near total weathering effect. The set contains a filter, a wash and a product to do streaking grime over the famous Panzer Grey.”

Being a huge WW2 fan and loving German armour (Although not the early period) I had similar products for the Tricolour systems from Mig Productions, so to try the AK Interactive ones made by MIG was a natural step.

A lot of people seem interested in how I do my Digital patterns, well it’s no real secret I just use a mask and many thin coats via an airbrush. I think I may have to do a tutorial, if enough people are interested.

Cheers

Carabus

3 thoughts on “Dropzone Commander – Painting the PHR Athena WiP – Pt 2”

  1. I’d love to see a tutorial, if for no other reason to see you work the magic with the air brush.

Comments are closed.