Dropzone Commander Army Deals Part 2


It’s another day here at the 6 Inch Move floating citadel and once more the halls ring to the sound of various things all Dropzone Commander. I’ve not seen this level of excitement grip people for quite a while, even with the prospect of a new version of 40k on the horizon.

I am not seeing the attraction to new 40k when for the expected cost of the new rulebook and a codex I could get a starter army and rules for DzC, everything you need to actually be able to play the game.

Anyway, I digress, we’re here to dissect the next in the army deal sets, we know they’re balanced around models rather than points values so things should be broadly similar but after Carabus begged and then threatened me that I needed to do the PHR deals next….

I bring you…… the UCM deals!

In the UCM Starter Army set you get the following;

3x Condor Medium Dropships

3x Sabre Main Battle Tanks

3x Rapier AA Tanks

2x Bear APC’s

6x Colonial Legionnaires stands

1x 40 card full colour Command Card deck

I must say that I actually really like this set, my fickle genes are a tingle right now. If you wanted to grab all these things on their own it would cost you £82.50 so the deal represents a really decent 17.5% saving, not bad for the lowest level box set, considering the saving getting the Premium version of this would seem like an absolute no-brainer to me.
The next set if the first of the web only exclusives and nets you some of the larger models as well as more variety in what you can put on the field of battle.

Then we have the UCM Large Army;

1x Albatross Heavy Dropship

3x Condor Medium Dropships

2x Raven Type B Light Dropships

6x Sabre Main Battle Tanks

3x Rapier AA Tanks

4x Bear APC’s

4x Wolverine Scout Buggies

1x Kodiak Command Vehicle

12x Colonial Legionnaires stands

2x Archangel Interceptors

1x 40 card full colour Command Card deck

That really is quite a large amount of models and really pads out the range with some of the really juicy models like the Albatross. This version of the army equates to £177.50 although the Scout cars are missing from the site on their own so I’ve had to make a call on how expensive they are going to be. I don’t see this massively altering the calculation though. The cost of £140 for the set is a 21% saving, such a substantial saving for the Shaltari was only available when you got up to the Mega Army level so the UCM are saving you more money, however, the way I see it it’s likely that the UCM have cheaper stuff in game terms so you’d be needing more on the table which may swing things on what you choose to take. It’d be nice to try and get the points costs for each force so you know how much you might need to supplement each army dependant on which one you get.

Finally there is the amazing UCM Mega Army, these forces contain so much stuff I’m very impressed with them, even if they do come in rather pricey.

2x Albatross Heavy Dropships

4xCondor Medium Dropships

2x Raven Type A Light Dropships

2x Raven Type B Light Dropships

6x Sabre Main Battle Tanks

6x Rapier AA Tanks

4x Bear APC’s

4x Gladius Heavy Tanks

2x Scimitar Tank Destroyers

4x Wolverine Scout Buggies

1x Kodiak Command Vehicle

12x Legionnaires stands

4x Praetorians stands

2x Falcon Gunships

1x Seraphim Strike Fighter

2x Archangel Interceptors

1x 40 card full colour Command Card deck

That really is a massive amount of models you’re getting if you stump up the cash for it. Separate purchases would be a wallet crunching £291.50 again working on a guesstimate of £10 for the 4 Scout cars. My maths says that this is almost a 25% saving if you grab the set, if you bought the Premium version for the case you’d still be saving over £40 on the models alone! I’ll have to admit that I am really impressed with this set and while I love me some Shaltari walkers the savings here and the awesome models are tempting me back to my original first choice…. curse you Mr. Lewis! Th addition of the excellent Gladius Heavy Tanks is what also tempts me towards this set. I’m allowed to sell my firstborn to finance this right?

7 thoughts on “Dropzone Commander Army Deals Part 2”

  1. I hate you!!!!

    PHR… PHR…. Wait if I keep doing this you will make them last right? Hmmmm.

    Scourge…. Scourge…… Scourge…..

  2. I found them just fine under the Land vehicles of the UCM, at 7.50 pounds for four models.

Comments are closed.