Games Workshop Increase Depth to Which They Shaft Customers – story at 11


In what many of you may regard as a slow news day I come with a story that will be of no surprise to absolutely nobody. Next month the mudslinging will begin again as perennial gaming bad boys Games Workshop chuck another round of above inflation rises onto their stock.

While one may be forgiven for thinking that this does not impact too much on those of us ensconced within the mighty fortress that is the 6 Inch Move floating citadel it does mean that we will not be bringing you a project we’d been alluding to since the start of the year.

Last year, the Warhammer Fantasy contingent here at 6 Inch Move came up with an idea. We had decided to run our own version of the fan favourite “Tale of X Gamers” while putting our own twist onto the genre. I was planning on putting together a 3000pts force and showing you all, dear readership, that this could be done on a budget if one were to plan appropriately and be clever with what was purchased. We’d have been assembling and painting our way to fully painted armies and we’d have been showing our work here on this very organ. The reason behind this was to show that despite the Sherriff’s eye-watering prices that with a little forethought you could get the army you want for less than you think and I’m not just talking about a 20% discount from online retailers and some lucky purchases from eBay.

Sadly, after reading rumours about price increases around the net today I had the news confirmed by my FLGS. Therefore it is with a heavy heart that I have decided that I can no longer support this endeavour. I’ll be sticking to my other games and enjoying the 3000+pts of Ogres that I already have. From talking to the others involved with this project it looks like they will also be doing the same. I’m saddened it has come to this but belts are tight these days and despite the hobby’s luxury status I can get a lot more for my money from other games systems that I enjoy just as much. I should be able to now make that custom gaming board I’ve been thinking of.

The silver lining to all this is that I don’t live in Australia, if this rise goes on there as well…. that’s not going to be pretty.

2 thoughts on “Games Workshop Increase Depth to Which They Shaft Customers – story at 11”

  1. Here comes the internet QQ, the annual whingefest:

    “This is ridiculous! I’m done with Games Workshop right after I’ve got my army finished! I just need this one last thing then it’s over. Finished. I’ll never buy another thing ever! And this year I really mean it!”

Comments are closed.