Dystopian Wars: Kingdom of Britannia


I know it’s been a while since I’ve mentioned this Victorian Sci-fi naval game.  For those of you who have not heard about it, Dystopian Wars is the latest game from Spartan Games, the makers of Uncharted Seas and Firestorm Armada.  The core mechanics are the same, but there are a series of differences such as tiny flyers and the use of sea, land and air models.  Although we haven’t been playing it among our little band of gamers, I have had a few games with some others at a local gaming club and I can say that I have enjoyed them.  The game works well, is fairly simple and as Spartan Games has made a new edition of the rulebook (version 1.1) it is easy to read.  This was my only real criticism about Dystopian Wars, that the rulebook was just badly put together.  The new rulebook is a big improvement; its nicely done, with plenty of diagrams and explanations, and the fleet lists come complete with a nice profile picture of each model.

When Dystopian Wars was first released I purchased some Britannian models, but because we haven’t been playing it much I haven’t got around to painting them until now.  So here are some pictures of some of the finished models; a Bomber, a Submarine and a Battleship.  The Submarine happens to be one of my favourite models.

3 thoughts on “Dystopian Wars: Kingdom of Britannia”

  1. I’m really tempted to switch my Yanks for some Frenchies, I love the look of their stuff. I’ll definitely have to get a game in with you though, had the models for ages but not played at all.

    1. I’ve Played a couple of games now and it’s a good system. From what I’ve gathered the Americans are tough. I’ve also bought a Japanese fleet the other day so that we have a little veriaty

      1. I’ll have to see what kind of deals are going on at Salute. Might grab the French then it there’s a bargain to be had… although should really play with the Americans first to get a feel for the game.

Comments are closed.