Batman Arkham City – First Impressions


Since my PC died a few weeks ago my xbox has been having a bit of a renaissance.  After speaking to some friends I acquired my own copy of Space Marine and have really enjoyed it.  But that’s not important now as I’m looking at the latest Batman game Arkham City.

I was a fan of the previous game, Arkham Asylum.  It had action, mystery and was very characterful environment.  Well Arkham City was released the other day I very dutifully bought my copy and have since spent a few hours jumping from roof tops with my underpants on the outside of my trousers.  So what are my first impressions?

If you liked the Asylum then I’m sure you’ll enjoy City.  It has everything that Asylum game plus more.  You have the action, the Riddler’s puzzles, the predator aspect of hunting down bad guys from the shadows.  You also have the options of upgrades as you get more experience.  With new gear and skills available.

The extras include things like playing as Catwoman in some of the missions.  She’s not as powerful as the Bat, but she is a hell of a lot faster.

And the city?  Wow!  It’s a massive map, and I mean huge.  There are major buildings for you to enter, plenty of rooftops to jump off and loads of bad guys to beat up.  Most of the major bad guys are there; Joker, Bane, Penguin, Freeze etc etc.  In some ways it’s a little overwhelming.  You have the main mission which involves Hugo Strange, but there are loads of mini/side missions such as rescuing political prisoners, hunting down an assassin, destroying the remaining Titan toxin, plus lots more.  I’m a particular fan of Zasz’s (spelt wrong I know) mini-mission where you have to hunt the phones ans trace his calls.  It’s very easy to get distracted by also these extras and this is probably the only thing that poke holes in with this game, and even then this isn’t a real criticism, it’s just hard to decide which missions to give priority to.  Oh and to fully appreciate the story you may have to buy Asylum as some of the story lines carry on from it.

Overall a fantastic game if you like a good mix of action, adventure, puzzle solving and just moving around a fantastic environment.

