Kharn the Betrayer has some fun (lessons on how to loose with Eldar)


Yesterday afternoon I had a couple of games against the youngest member of our gaming group.  He has been using his Chaos Marine army and has learnt fast.  We had two 1500 point games, the first against my Tyranids, the second against my Eldar.  The Tyranid game was quick and bruttle, the Chaos Marine army being tabled in turn 4 and most of the Tyranids were still around.  His choice of Kharn the Betrayer proved entertaining in both games.  In the Tyranid game Kharn and his faithful Berserkers munched through a 17 strong Termagant unit before half of the Tyranid army (including the Doom of Malan’tai – more about him in another post) shot the snot out of the unit.  Kharn being on his last wound was assault by yet more Termangants and had some fun killing lots of them before he was taken out.

The next part of my post though is listed in the title – How to loose with Eldar.  So here’s the lesson.

  1. Roll dice badly.  How I can fail so many 3+ saves I will never know.
  2. Have your opponent pass 9 out of 10 3+ saves repeatedly.  Most of his marines were Plague Marines with their Feel No Pain ability, but they hardly used it as he kept passing 3+ saves.  The only ones I was able to kill were those hit by Fusion Guns and Wraithcannons.
  3. Have both your Wave Serpent and Falcon one shooted and explode in turn 3.
  4. Get your Wraithguard into close combat (really bad move on my part).
  5. Not having enough Jetbikes.
  6. Moving your Striking Scorpions out of cover in the woods to get battle cannoned by a Defiler.  Only the poor Exarch lived.
  7. Let the Daemon Prince assault your Dark Reapers in turn 2.

Now I know you shouldn’t blame everything on dice rolling, even if the first 2-3 points are basically that, but it doesn’t help when the dice gods are looking the other way.  There were some mistakes on my part and the biggest ones are listed above.  So was there anything that went well? My Fire Dragons did what they do best and metled the Defiler.  The Jetbikes made themselves useful.  And what about my favourite Scorpions?  Well as I said the got battlecannoned in turn 2, but Eldar of match has to go to this guy;

The Scorpion Exarch.  Despite loosing his entire unit to bad leadership, he still managed to take down the Daemon Price in close combat, a Rhino and in the last turn head shoted Kharn himself!  So at least one thing went well.

On the serious, non-moaning side I’ve been learning very quickly how to use my Eldar, mainly due to bad choices in both army construction and battle tactics and I hope not to repeat these mistakes.

One thought on “Kharn the Betrayer has some fun (lessons on how to loose with Eldar)”

  1. That’s part of the reason I enjoy my Dark Eldar so much. You have no real armour saves to hide behind, nor high toughness. You have to use your units properly and not make mistakes in order for them to do their job, if you screw up then you are probably going to lose. That kind of a learning curve is what keeps me going, I have to improve my game in order for my army to have a chance.

Comments are closed.