“A Fool and His Money Are Soon Parted” – Sheriff Laughing All The Way to The Bank


OK, I think this is going to be my last rant about the recent shenanigans coming out of the Sheriff’s Lenton-based uber-palace. There has been a lot of reporting on the web about Finecost/Failcast/Finecash or whatever derogatory term you are using for the grey, bendy army men that GW are pushing onto their addicts right now.

My own personal opinion about this goes along the lines the of; “ARE YOU PEOPLE FREAKING MAD??!!?????”

This stems primarily from an odd behaviour that I am seeing more and more as I peruse forums and see people’s reactions to the material change. As I am sure our well-educated and astute readers are already aware, the release of Finecast hasn’t been without hiccup. We’ve all heard of the heat issues and the problems where stores have had batches of miscast blisters and yet what is startling to me is that outside of the really malformed stuff people are actually brushing this off as acceptable!

I was reading a post by a chap yesterday about a terminator model in Finecast, apparently after he had been painting it he noted that one of the legs on his model was actually cracked but “with a little greenstuff it was OK” and there are many more stories of people performing repairs to stuff to make them useable. I’m sorry, but maybe I am getting old or something but the stuff we get from GW is expensive, we all acknowledge that fact. Now, irrelevant of how we feel about the justification for the pricing, when you purchase goods, irrelevant of what those goods are, you enter into a contract with the manufacturer. You agree to remunerate them in order to gain possession of something and that something is therefore supposed to be fit for purpose and free from defects. It is the manufacturer’s responsibility to ensure their product is free from defects and to replace faulty goods. Wear and tear is natural and not a part of any replacement but in all other respects you are paying for something and expect a level of quality, especially when you are paying a lot of money for it, after-all generally the quality of something increases with its cost.

Games Workshop are the most expensive hobby company in the world, nothing else comes close really, so you should expect a top-notch product. My problem is, that if you are willing to accept sub-par product when you are paying through the nose for it then not only is the Sheriff not getting an accurate set of data about defects in their product but you are just going to end up accepting the inferior stuff they are now producing. Sure there were problems with metal casting, but I bet you took that back to the store rather than shave 1mm of offset casting and then resculpting details huh? If GW do not know their stuff is cack they are under no obligation to improve things.

For all you naysayers also harking on about “this is just the first run, it will get better” I say bull-hockey! I work in a manufacturing environment, we do R&D and rigourously test the processes involved with creating a product before it ever goes anywhere near a consumer. If it isn’t to specification modifications are made that do that, we pride ourselves on quality and will not ship sub-standard tat. GW should not be ironing out problems with the product after it has been released to market! A proper QA and R&D system should have removed the problems before a proper release. Now, of course some anomalies do slip through, such is the nature of things but the scale of people’s acceptance of things boggles my mind.

As the maxim at the start of this thread states; “a fool and his money are soon parted” and this is how I am feeling about Finecast. Sure the detail might be better and the models more durable, but when the consumer is willingly covering the manufacturer for their mistakes and inferior goods I am almost happy that you are willing to fork out massive wads of cash for this stuff. It’s really quite an odd scenario that in general people seem to show qualities of addicts, that despite how bad things are you need that hit of a new model so badly you are willing to put up with a lot that you shouldn’t have to else you might miss out on that endorphin rush!

Again, I’ll reiterate that I don’t own any Finecast models yet, with their cost I am not likely too but I would not rule it out. However, I’ll be damned if I am going to accept poor quality goods for more money than the, already over-priced, metals were. If other companies can produce goods in the same mediums and do better quality casting for lower prices, then I am much more likely to give my money to them. People decry GW for the constant price rises but their products seem to be like Crystal Meth to some people. No matter how much they want to break away their money flies out of their wallet month after month.

If you ever really want to make the Sheriff listen there is only one way it will work and you already know what that is.

As a wise man once said “It’s time to nut up, or shut up!”

2 thoughts on ““A Fool and His Money Are Soon Parted” – Sheriff Laughing All The Way to The Bank”

  1. Exacto-freaking-mundo my friend. £15 for an unpainted, unassembled 28mm toy soldier is only warranted if that toy soldier is tip top top notch quality. At that sort of price range miscasts and errors are unacceptable!

  2. About 5 years ago I accompanied a coworker and his son to a GW convention, and since then I’ve wanted to take my own, now 10-year old son. So for the past few years I’ve been keeping an eye out for when their convention returns to L.A., because for some reason they’ve gone from having 3-4 annual conventions at various cities across the U.S. to having just one convention in one city. Perhaps their conventions are not as profitable as they once were? I can’t imagine why.

    Overall my experience can be summed up in two words: dishonesty & greed. And the greed came from all sides.

    My coworker’s son and I played in their Big Game (Space Marines vs Tyranids, approx. 20-25 players per side) and our particular opponent quickly realized we were not that experienced and he was frequently bending the rules in his favor. I know he was bending them because the players either side of us called him out on a couple of occasions but they had to fight their own battles too, so I’m sure he still got away with a lot. With only a limited number of GW Reps supervising the 50+ players we had no choice but to play along and try to enjoy ourselves. Which we did, to a certain degree.

    In the middle of the convention was a build-a-model area where you could, obviously, build a model. The unwritten rule was one model, and after looking around I eventually managed to scrounge together enough pieces to put together a single, Space Marine model. I saw other participants gluing a model on top of a pile of “corpses”. I’m sure they used a minimal amount of glue so they could detach them at home. I even saw one kid gleefully show his mate an entire Space Marine Commander sprue that he’d grabbed and stuffed in his bag, and I’m sure he wasn’t the only one to do so. That’s the one which has 4-5 “Leader” models, being a Sergeant, a Librarian, an Apothecary, etc. and at the time was selling for around US$35.

    We also paid a trip to the convention’s “store” where you could buy pretty much any of their models at a heavily discounted price. I think it was 100%. As in you paid 100% of their regular price. Yes, their “Convention” prices were no cheaper than their in-store prices. When I picked up a catalog “poster” from the stack they had next to the register I was told to put it down, that they were for paying customers only. IIRC I paid approx. $50 to attend the convention and they wouldn’t let me have a poster unless I bought one of their models. They had one of their writers sitting in their store signing copies of his books, but he was only signing books you bought there. I saw a couple of kids present him with copies of their own books and he refused to sign them. These were books he had written but because the kids didn’t buy them at that convention he refused to sign them.

    I own Blood Bowl, the Death Zone expansion, and 4 extra teams, along with Star Players for the Humans, the Orcs, and for each of my extra teams.
    I own Warhammer 40K along with a full Space Wolf/Space Marine army including Bikes, and a Dreadnought.
    I own the basic Necromunda plus House Escher (what’s not to love about Punk Women with giant guns 😉
    And I also own the basic Warhammer game (no additional models).

    As I said, for the last few years I’ve been checking up on when the GW Convention returns to L.A., but I’ve pretty much made up my mind that even when they do come back, I’m not going to attend. I’ve given GW a lot of money over the years, but no more.

Comments are closed.