Mantic and the Sheriff on the Warpath


Hi Interweb users. Well this is my first post since my ascension from obscurity to the lofty heights of the floating citadel. I have to say I am very happy to be here and gaming with the citadel’s members.

So where to start? I could say I have been gaming for a million years and in that time I have experienced games from the sheriff, role-playing (the book and online versions,) to historical and whole host of systems, but do you care about what I have done? No. Not really! So I shall move on to the point of the post.

There has been much flying all over the web about the sheriff and what he is doing, from banning online sales out of the EU to Finecost. Having recently just got back into 40k, as members of the citadel enjoy the occasional game, I bought into the system around the time of the Grey Knight release, so it seemed natural to get them as my beloved Necrons of old were, what can I say, left in the dark with a very old rulebook. I know there are rumours flying around about them coming soon, but I couldn’t wait, I’m not built that way. I needed something shiny and new, nothing comes more shiny than the current range of Grey Knights. I may go on about these in additional posts but I seem to be rambling and not getting to the point of what I am trying to say.

Mantic Games (There you go swiftly back to the point!)

Mantic have been on the scene now for a little while and I was initially not too impressed with the Elves. Then the undead came out and I was more impressed  with them, then the various version of the Dwarfs. Ok now they are getting better and better. Then I saw the latest Orks and I thought WOW! These are nice. However, as always I looked, liked and then dismissed them. Why?

Because I always ended up looking at the Sheriffs version of Fantasy and I always liked the look of them. I was even getting pressure from some of the members of the floating citadel to get a new army and join in (nothing like a little pressure to part money from the wallet! Don’t take a lot with us hobby gamers) and then it hit us. The sheriff’s new rules, regulations and price rise and Finecost! I vowed not to buy from them as an army went up to £500 – £600, which I was not prepared to pay.

So I started to look around and went back to Mantic for a look see. Around the same time, while keeping up on the interweb, I was watching my usual dose of YouTube and Beasts of War, they announced Mantic would be on live and there would be a big announcement or two. So last night I sat and watched.

I watched as more pictures were released of the beautiful aggressive looking Orks and I thought I could afford these, I would not be able to spend less then say £800 for Orks from the sheriff and these were about £100 – £150 for a massive army. I was getting quite excited at this point.

Then they announced 3 more armies, Goblins, Dark Elves and finally (as requested by so many) Humans. Wow! So now I can have even more choice and the quality keeps improving with each release. There was also to be a new full rule book with history and fluff, just what I like. We all need a little fluff J

There was discussion about costs and a little ribbing thrown the Sheriff’s direction, not undeserved in my opinion and they announced that they were replacing a couple of metal units. Currently they do 5 undead cavalry for £25 in metal and they are replacing them with this new fandangle resin-plastic. At this point my eyes started rolling as I thought of Finecost from the Sheriff. Ronnie from Mantic then said that they were going to keep the same price but add another 5 models. So that is 10 now for the £25 as the material is cheaper to produce. I wonder who should take note that a cost saving in material should offer a price reduction or more for your money??? Do you need me to say??? Cough, Cough Finecost…

So I am thinking that this all sounding great, I am quite excited and will be looking into the range and getting the rules, which are FREE by the way. The LIVE video continues and they get onto the subject of the future and then they officially confirm that they are working on a Sci-Fi version of the game called Warpath. Yippee!!! Now I am all for trying different systems and periods but Sci-Fi is my thang. So this is great news.

Could Mantic truly be an alternative to the Sheriff? My answer…

WATCH THIS SPACE!

7 thoughts on “Mantic and the Sheriff on the Warpath”

  1. Smoke and a pancake this is great news! If the ruleset and minis are up to spec then I’ll happily take a few steps down the Warpath!

  2. Cheers Servitob 🙂

    I am quite excited about what’s next from Mantic, althought I have never brought from them, I do hope the Sheriff gets more competition and is forced to access there truely strange business model.

    Looking at what Mantic produce for the price, they have some fantastic lines, I am just unsure of more comitment until I have painted and finnished at least some of my projects.

    I will finnish my Grey Knights 🙂

  3. I LOVE my Mantic Vampire Counts Fantasy army. 60 USD for 60 Skeletons is a steal of a deal. ( Prices may have changed )

    My VC are almost 200 head and contain:
    2 GW VC models
    7 GW Bretonian models I got from a friend
    ~5 Reaper character models
    Everything else is Mantic

    I hope they make some decent Space Marine like things.

Comments are closed.