Collette Du Bois – Shenanigans!


As Servitob’s picture from the weekend alludes to we had a bit of a gaming session this past Saturday. Due to the lovely weather and the number of attendees scattered throughout the day we decided to throw open the patio doors from the buccaneering side of the floating citadel and enjoy some gaming al fresco. nBreaker was the first to arrive and so we decided to crack out the Malifaux for our game before anyone else turned up.

We setup the terrain and then flipped for our Strategies, I got Destroy Evidence and nBreaker got Treasure Hunt. We then each picked two Schemes, I announced one of mine and kept the other secret. As the dust cleared we were both sitting on 3 VPs and most of our forces had been gutted (I love Cassandra, she killed two full health minions in one activation). This was the closest and most bloody game of Malifaux that we’ve ever had but it was also super enjoyable.

For this game I ran the Showgirls box set, this was the first time I’d had the opportunity to run the girls after the last few games running a Seamus crew and Raspy before that. I’d had a lot of success with Raspy and her offensive magic stylings but it has been a while since I looked over the Malifaux stuff so we were a bit rusty and I therefore hadn’t unlocked all of Collette’s tricks.

After the game we had a lot of time for some reflection. nBreaker took Lady J again, backed up by the Judge, Samael Hopkins, a Witchling Stalker and Death Marshal, with the Scales of Justice for the large breasted sword master herself. I knew that he therefore had a lot of ranged power and some melee powerhouses.

The first thing that stands out about Collette and her crew is that every one of them has the ability to use Soulstones, I started the game with 7 in my pool and there are plenty of ways in which to generate more. The game lasted six turns and I had great fun learning of and pulling off a lot of shenanigans. Cassandra ate through Samael and the Witchling Stalker, then Collette used her abilities to swap places with her, landing Cassandra near to the melee forces of Lady J’s crew but keeping the much more important Collette out of harms way. This teleporting tricksiness allowed me to accomplish all the objectives that earned my those 3 VPs.

Unfortunately I had some bad luck with the cards, pulling the Black Joker or 1’s when I really needed to get off some spell combos, however, nBreaker played a much tighter game too and made me pay for spreading myself out and missing those combos. I’ve noticed a couple of things I could have done with the crew since the game finished and I am looking forward to using them again. The Showgirls are certainly very different from the Cult of December, they aren’t really a direct damage kind of crew, they pull off all kinds of funky things that distracts and annoys your opponent but I think I’m going to have to study things out a lot more in order to better work out the vectors for winning.

However,saying that I did always keep my focus on completing my objectives and having done that keeping Collette alive stopped nBreaker from completing another objective that would have netted him 1 more VP and therefore the win. I don’t think it will be that long before he is beating me to a bloody pulp but I think next time he might try out his new Dreamer crew and as I’ve not faced them it may prove to be a very interesting game.

What this game did show me though was how much fun Malifaux is. We played the Strategies from the newest book and took Schemes for the first time too, it provides a real twist to the game so that you aren’t always sure of what your opponent is up to. He had an objective to kill Cassandra, I’d stacked her defence to over 30 on a duel total and thought she’d be safe to have a go at Lady J in my activation but when a Red Joker was cheated in it sealed her fate, that was a VP to nBreaker that I didn’t know about until the end. It made me understand why the Red Joker was applied to that Duel, he was also lucky enough to draw the Black Joker in his hand and therefore remove it from the game, whereas my Black Joker appeared 2 or 3 times at really annoying moments.

I’ll be back for more though, I can guarantee that!

