Quitting World Of Warcraft For The Umpteenth Time!


Those of you who are regularily reading googlespiders might remember my last quit post which I wrote a while back.

So I successfully stayed off the Warcrack for nearly a year, but with the upcoming release of Cataclysm and the reactivation of a few friends decided once again to step foot in Azeroth.

After much grinding, dungeoning, tanking and general leetness I have decided to give it a break. The game is still pretty awesome, yeah I never much liked the grinding side of things but the playing with friends and other people really made it for me. I’ve done all the heroics, got all the phat lewts and met some great new people along the way. Unfortunately, the only way to progress now is to give my life to the gods of raiding. I don’t much fancy all the drama or time commitments to do that.

One aspect of the social side of the game has been becoming more apparent to me. It was something I think was first mentioned by grumhelden, a regular commenter here. Wrath of The Lich King more than ever has bred a generation of WoW players with serious entitlement issues. It seems that a lot of the people you meet out there in LFD assume that completing an heroic run is a given, and get irate at any signs of a wipe despite the fact that they are happily undergeared and underperforming.

This undergeared/underperforming is most apparent with the dps/pvp classes who are well versed in WRITING IN UPPER CASE when things go southward. The healer goes out of mana, the tank dies, they stand in the fire but it’s never their fault. Listen people, Wrath was last year. Healer mana is now finite. You can no longer take down bosses at your leisure. If you are not pumping out the dps at a great rate of knots we will wipe and it is your fault. Yes, you. Get your rep gear, learn your rotations. The era of being carried is over!

Cheerio!

3 thoughts on “Quitting World Of Warcraft For The Umpteenth Time!”

  1. Yes! I keep hearing players with this attitude of entitlement, and I want to say, “Stop whining!” The other day a couple noobs got upset with me for “letting” their character die while questing nearby. When did it become my job to save everyone? I might have helped if I’d seen what was happening, but my point of view was not in their direction. I wonder if the entitlement thing is happening because Blizzard is catering to younger players now?

Comments are closed.