Father Nurgle Pays Visit to Floating Citadel


Even undead swashbucklers can get sick and as we are now only a week away from Christmas and sub-zero temperatures are sweeping the UK anyone that works in an office environment has probably noticed either a thinning of their staff or a cacophony of coughing plague-bearers. Father Nurgle has certainly been busy.

I went to work on Friday feeling less than stellar so much so that when I got home that evening I went straight to bed, waking at 3am and not being able to get back to sleep. Due to this I decided to do what any other sane person would do, log into World of Warcraft and spend a few hours pottering about. Surprisingly there was no queue when I logged in, however, there must have been a lot of ill people who couldn’t sleep because Orgrimmar wasn’t exactly devoid of life. There were a lot of players on considering the hour and I reckon it’s a good bet that nowhere near the majority of them were in the same state as I was.

I came off around 7am and went back to bed for a bit. I even took my wife into town to do some Christmas shopping that afternoon. I spent the whole day feeling pretty rotten and devoid of energy. Once we did get home I just crashed on the sofa with a blanket. I then had to be in work early Sunday morning and then (rather foolishly) went to Church afterwards, I came home and then spent the rest of the day curled up on the sofa with a blanket.

Luckily this morning I am feeling almost back to normal with the final remnants of my cough now being the only obvious sign of my ill state. Going through the whole weekend having no energy to do anything, despite feeling OK to do stuff but getting cream-crackered as soon as any effort is put forth is not a great experience. Unfortunately my wife has also picked up the cough from me, luckily she seems to have missed the other symptoms.

Now, the purpose of this post is not to try to engender some kind of sympathy from the Internet masses, but more to look into why it is than in general Men tend to take things harder than Women. To be fair my wife hardly ever gets sick, when she does though she is pretty violently ill. I too tend to have a pretty strong constitution and anything I do pick up I can shed fairly quickly.

This weekend I just felt like crap so chose to shut down to try to provide my body with the opportunity to kick some virus butt! This left my wife to wait on me hand and foot pretty much, despite the fact that she is 6 months pregnant. There was also a lot of work we wanted to get done over the weekend to prepare for our new arrival and got precisely nowhere as I was curled up like some kind of half-dead prawn. I just felt completely sapped of all energy. When I am ill I just completely crash out in general, yet when my wife is suffering from what I can imagine if roughly the same as what I have she seems much better able to get on with life. We are not particularly sick people (no pun intended) so when stuff does come along it can knock us for six but there seems to be something special about women that allows them to just roll with the punches and keep plodding along, except for those circumstances when they seem to pick up some vile illness that confines them to the bed and I must be a much worse nurse for my wife when she is ill than the other way around.

