ZombiePirate – Undersea Adventures in Azeroth


Hopefully the picture gives a feeling for just how this post is going to turn out. However, hopefully the wordy parts will actually make some sense and offer adequate explanation of my recent experiences.

Over the weekend Cataclysm won out over any painting, I got to spend my Saturday really sinking my teeth into the new content (another Oracles egg with no Green Proto-Drake, it did drop me the whelpling pet just to taunt me a little more). I’ve spent some more time on the Vashj’ir questline and also continued levelling my mining (Obsidium Ore is selling for a fortune right now and there is heavy competition for the nodes). Speaking of mining, I’d like to give a shoutout to Bluebird, a Troll, so the same faction as my lovely Goblin Shaman Pazzaz on the Argent Dawn server. You gave me another treat by taking away the mining node I was standing on top of when one of the Mount Hyjal mobs attacked me when I started mining. I especially enjoyed the way you put me on ignore as well so I couldn’t congratulate you on being an asshole!

Right, now that’s off my chest, Vashj’ir. I’ve been in the zone long enough to form a proper opinion of it. I know that there has been a lot of criticism levelled on the Internet in general regarding the breadcrumb style progression. I have to say that the artwork is top notch, it really is very different to anything that we have seen in the past so a big congorats to Blizzard for that. However, the quest experience is really very, very dull. There is a vast stream of (seemingly) never-ending “kill x of y” and “collect x of y” quests, I will admit that there are a couple of quests that break this trend and some that even follow this trend that are actually interesting (the Naga vision questline for instance). Since I first started playing Cataclysm I’ve only been able to stomach an hour or so in the underwater landscapes, after I’ve done an area’s worth of quests I have to take a break and go do other things. This has led to me only being level 82 but I don’t see the need to rush through the content.

In between the questing sessions I’ve been doing my mining (almost at 475 now) which is netting me some nice profit as I’ve sold off everything I mined from Wrath zones and am now spending some time getting a few stacks here and there of Obsidium in Mount Hyjal to feed the people crafting their way to 525. Happy to be a provider at the forefront of crafting for a change and it is certainly helping out a character that started off the Echo Isles liberation quests with nary a gold piece to her name. My Archaoeology is also growing and I look forward to trying to find some of the more interesting pieces, with flying now allowed in Azeroth you can make some decent XP from it too. I’ve only completed two common artifacts so far but then I am still a Journeyman.

I’m training a Ravasaur mount too, sure none of these things are particularly epic but there is a lot of content I’ve skipped with my many absences and getting things done here and there is helping not die of boredom from Vashj’ir. I do want to finish the zone and will do, it’s just going to take me some time. Then there is also the final fact of me trying to get my Talbuks. I am five mounts off the Albino Drake (which I have on my Priest) and the Talbuks are what tipped me over fifty for that toon as well. I have enough cash to buy the Armored Blue Wind Rider and the Red Drake now but don’t really want to blow the money on them just to have them sit in my spellbook not being used. However, killing Ogres for Mag’har rep is actually a pretty calming way to kill some time and I’m about halfway to Exalted already. I’ve found the optimal place to do it and so want to finish that up. Lots of goals currently and I am hoping to eventually get the Traveller’s Tundra Mammoth and maybe even a Mechano-Hog once I increase my funds. Engineering is the tradeskill I already have on my Shaman to go with Mining but that will take a long time to level.

However, in amongst my normal goings on I have discovered the entrance to Blackrock Caverns. I read up on all the boss tactics and threw myself into LFD over the weekend. This resulted in the experience that Captain Picard is decrying at the start of this post. The first group I joined was down to the last two bosses and we blitzed them both without any trouble. Yet, in every other LFD group I have been in there has been a massive collectively fail with the Fire Elemental trash mobs before the third boss. No-one has had any problems with anything other than this. I cannot believe how many times I’ve wiped there with groups that pull everything together and try to AOE it down, even after being told that this cannot be done, I’ve tried using my CC on the little elementals to hold them in place while we down the big guy but no, AOE is still the mindset and as soon as the group fails more than once people just leave the group.

I guess I’m going to have to do guild groups only for my dungeon fixes as people don’t seem to be able to adapt to a new expansion doing things in new ways. I have yet to fight the third boss in BRC! I’ve seen everything else though. I need to actually find the Throne of the Tides too, that will hopefully give me more variety on where I end up and a chance of actually finishing some dungeons.

I’m liking Cataclysm overall, I just look forward to zones being a little more exciting than what they’ve done with Vashj’ir. We’ll see what I can do this week.

