WoW Cataclysm – ZombiePirate’s New Hotness


Nothing really quite characterises a Fantasy game quite like Dragons! Alongside Elves and women in unfeasibly skimpy armour, Dragons are a staple of the Fantasy genre and they featured quite heavily in the raid encounters for Vanilla WoW. There was Blackwing Lair and Onyxia’s Lair as some of the end game instances, more Dragons came into Wrath of the Lich King too with many an instance or raid encounter pitting you against the various Aspects. Now, the world shattering has happened, never again will we see the old Azeroth, consigned to history and people’s screenshot folders. The landscape has changed once more (pun intended) with new race/class combinations and a whole new realm to explore the week after next.

While I had other responsibilities to take care of last night I did manage to spend a little time in-game checking out the changes. First impressions are favourable, things have changed for sure, but there is still enough that seems familiar to make this seem like a world that has changed rather than a brand new environment. Orgrimmar is just, well, check it out if you can that place is a warren now! Stormwind is at the same time half-destroyed and massively redeveloped, the Forsaken have been busy pimping out Brill, the Northern Barrens looks pretty much the same as from old Azeroth but the Southern Barrens has changed dramatically. Ashenvale is under Horde attack with Astranaar burning and I am very glad that I have my Explorer achievement as it allows me to check out all the maps and see where all those new flight points are and there are a lot more of them. Even though flying mounts are going to be useable in Azeroth come the release of the expansion before you pick up flying travelling is going to be easier due to the increased number of flight points in every map. I can’t tell you how annoying I’ve found it that the second quest hub you come to don’t have flight points, well, now they do!

While I’ve played around with my character slots (my Undead Mage is now a brand new Night Elf to test the levelling changes) what will possibly be my most played new character is shown below, this is if the old gang gets back together to storm through new content and have fun together. Enjoy;

I introduce to you my new Warrior! While my Shaman will be fighting her way to 85 as and when I can, you need someone to stand in front of you and take the heat? She’s your gal, going to be grabbing Protection at level 10 and tanking my way, I’ve tanked on my Death Knight so have some experience with this role, I’ve healed and done Caster DPS. Let’s see what I can do with the new hotness!

