ZombiePirate Awaits the Cataclysm


Despite taking time out to administer a kicking to Gribblin’s effeminate migrants last week I’ve been spending more time recently in Azeroth as a kind of break from everything really. While I certainly haven’t been full-time I’ve taken some opportunities to relax and enjoy myself before cracking open more blister packs and boxsets to get on with what I need to do to reinforce my War of the Ring force and make a start on all that Dark Eldar goodness.

It is a widely held belief that the patch that deals with the breaking of Azeroth will arrive tomorrow, I’ve done some of the quests involved in the Cataclysm event but haven’t really taken much time out to participate in the city defence parts. Instead I’ve been chilling out on my Troll Shaman, Phake, doing stuff I want to do. This has seen me running around various places just grabbing some fun achievements as well as ducking inside Heroics through the LFD system. Phake now has a raw gearscore of 4.4k not accounting my gems and enchants (not fully gemmed and enchanted yet hence GS won’t take all things into account). I’m certainly enjoying playing my Shaman again and am now kitted out with three Tier 9 pieces, only the legs and chest to go!

My latest achievements are pretty cool as far as I am concerned, I’ve been in some dungeon groups that have been just awesome as well as the ones you hear about more frequently that suck ass. Last night I finished off my Ambassador achievement for getting Exalted with all five Horde cities. I just need to do some Kodo shopping now to possess all the mounts. I wanted to get this finished before Cataclysm as I am not sure what is going to happen considering there will be new cities and the world is going to change dramatically. I’ll also have to admit that it is also kind of cheat for me. Phake was originally Lekktra, a Draenei Shaman and was Exalted with Stormwind and Darnassus before switching across to the Horde when she was 80. This gave me a leg up in terms of finishing off the rest of the cities, Thunderbluff was the longest and hardest, I did all the newbie quests in Mulgore, some dungeon quests, cleared out Thousand Needles and still needed some from Ferelas before hitting the target. I have a shiny new title and no need to bother worrying about reputation anymore.

I also achieved my Northrend Dungeon Hero. Considering I have played Wrath on and off since it was released it was only last night I came across the Bog Lord type boss in Ahn’kahet…. I seriously didn’t know this guy existed as I have never ever seen anybody actually do it. When I got ported in there last night I asked the PUG if anyone minded doing all the bosses as it was the last place I needed to go for that Achievement. They kindly agreed. So we went through even doing the achievement for the first boss of not killing any guardians. We rocked through the place but after killing the final boss the Healer quit but the rest of the group wanted to help me grab my achievement, I was stunned to find a group of players willing to go out of their way to help me. It was a shame though that none of them were from my own server! (I don’t think anyone on Argent Dawn runs Heroics anymore, or that’s the way it seems). I was tasked with healing, despite being a single spec Elemental Shaman. So, I switched some totems around, popped Earthliving on my weapon and fired Water Shield up. We then proceeded to 4 man a boss I’d never seen before and had no idea of tactics, no-one even died!

I went and got my T9 helmet with all the Justice Points I’d earnt (taking me up to 3 pieces) gemmed all my stuff up now I am at the hit cap and logged off early for the night happy with my progress. I’ve achieved what I wanted to do before Azeroth changes (Ambassador Phake woot!) and even though in a few weeks the gear landscape is going to change I like progressing my Shaman back to a half decent level. While friends and I might well be making a reunion for Cataclysm (Blood Elf warrior maybe) I’ll probably still want to get Phake up to 85 when I can.

Tonight I think I’ll be back onto the modelling to give me a break from the computer, I have to do something with some Easterlings!

