Nostalgia – A Dish Best Served With A Side of AOE


I blogged the other day about my guilty pleasure, an occassional foray into gaming’s crackwhore behemoth World of Warcraft. However, since the 4.0.1 patch vastly changed the Class landscape I’ve not been sure about my fresh 80 Death Knight. Hence how I’ve hit 80 and not done a thing with her, spending my time between various alts (this will not surprise anyone I’ve played the game with) and currently enjoying the awesomeness of my Subtlety Rogue. She can stealth up behind things and pretty much one-shot mobs with Ambush, after rifling through the lint in their pockets of course!

After two nights playing (finally fixing a lag issue I’ve had) I’ve spent maybe three or four hours and taken my Rogue from level 26 through to 31 in that time. I use TourGuide to help my levelling, however, now things have been tweaked the XP comes that thick and fast that you can quickly outpace the guide, even with regular questing this is the case let alone adding in running Instances. According to my TourGuide I should be finishing off my quests in Stonetalon Mountains when really I can make a start at Stranglethorn Vale or go for what should be my second foray into Thousand Needles. I am about 5 levels ahead of TourGuide right now so am trying to skip ahead into the right zones for my level but with TourGuide some quests you pick up really far in advance and then hand them in much later so things like that I am skipping on.

Once I hit level 31 last night I decided to take a break from the ass-kicking I was handing out with my Rogue and went for a potter about with the Cataclysm quests on my Death Knight. To cut a long story short I ended up responding to a PST regarding a group that wanted a healer for Karazhan. They had already got one but took along my Death Knight to tank. 5k+ DPS are not going to be tanked by a fresh level 80 Death Knight, however, at level 80 we went in with 5 of us and AOE’d the whole place down in around 40 minutes.

The most fun I ever had with WoW were playing with Servitob, Mrs Servitob and nBreaker when we were in a guild together raiding this place as level 70s. It was challenging, it was fun and we spent far too much time playing WoW once we started raiding. Yet, despite the time sink it became I remember it fondly, going back with a group of strangers and walking through the place brought back a lot of those memories. It was nice to see the place again and watch the familiar bosses even if everyone of them went down in under a minute! I even got some RP loot hehe.

We may not have done the place properly but I still class that raid as the single crowning glory in WoW, certainly was nice to be in there again.

I’m still not sure if I like the gameplay changes to the Death Knight though, but at least I have a new shiny achievement!

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia – A Dish Best Served With A Side of AOE”

  1. Glad to know I wasnt the only one tempted back, alas my workmate wouldnt shut up about the changes, so I had to see for myself…Grumhelden the dwarf, who had a sex change to blood elf for some raiding, is unplayable, they have massacred paladins 😦

Comments are closed.