War of the Ring – Rohan Vs Fallen Realms


As alluded to in my post yesterday the 6 Inch Move team got another day off from our usual lives in order to avail ourselves of some juicy gaming goodness. Unfortunately, “the Man” makes Gribblin work every Saturday so we had to wait for him to clock off before his fashionista forces could arrive for their inaugural game. Servitob also had to arrive late due to generally being a lazy ass.

So it was that Carabus, nBreaker and myself appeared to kick off the morning in proper fashion. As nBreaker had been gimped by terrain on his last game against Servitob’s Isengard we had decided he would be up first to get another game in, we were also going to throw him in the deep end against the aforementioned debutantes of Gribblin’s poncy Elves. Due to them getting their nails and hair done they were unable to arrive until the Gribblin left work in the afternoon. So, with the three of us standing around we decided that it would be myself to face off against the Rohirrim using my recently “tweaked” Fallen Realms list.

It was a 1000pts game that saw me take the following;

  • Dalamyr, Fleetmaster of Umbar – Leader
  • Haradrim – 4 Companies with Bows and Balefire Arrows
  • Haradrim Raiders – 4 Companies with Banner Bearers
  • Easterling Cohort – 3 Companies with Pikes, Captain and Dragon Knight
  • Morgul Knight Regiment – 3 Companies with Banner Bearer
  • Watcher Warband – 1 Company with Bows
  • Winged Nazgul – The Shadow Lord

We ended up playing the Field of Swords scenario where you are rewarded for taking Banners and crumping skulls. I was up against a veritable horde of cavalry and an allied Dwarf Ballista. My list was changed around since last time, namely the dropping of the Mumak for the Winged Nazgul and dropping the Dark Marshal, the Easterling Archers and the Haradrim Heroes in order to afford the Morgul Knights and taking Dalamyr plus putting a few upgrades here and there such as the pikes on the Easterling Cohort. Overall the new list looks more threatening than the last one.

With a memory like a seive I cannot provide a blow-by-blow battle report but I can pick out what works for me with the new list. The Winged Nazgul is an absolute treat, I was made to set up first and was then given Priority in the first turn. The first thing I did was swoop attack over the Dwarf Ballista, the attack itself did nothing but the following Strength from Corruption spell rolled 4 hits and destroyed the machine before it got to fire a shot. After shuffling the rest of my army around a little nBreaker stood in deep and thoughtful conversation with Servitob about what to do in his move phase due to the hungry looking Felbeast hanging around in his deployment zone.

The Nazgul kept making a nuisance of itself throughout the game, picking off stuff here and there, disrupting charges with Pall of Night and although nothing ever failed its Terror test when it charged into combat it really did cause problems. I heard mentions of Gandalf when people were discussing counters for it later on. The Morgul Knights ended up fighting other cavalry for most of the game, however, when they hit some Rohirrim I was hitting on 5’s and with five dice managed to roll every single one as a 5 to finish off a unit, that was quite lucky on my part. My Easterlings with Pikes were a massive anchor on my right flank, they wouldn’t shift and when bolstered by the Dragon Knight’s fight of 7 really lay down the hurt, he even saw off Eowyn in an Heroic Duel. I am loving my Easterlings and I think other people are respecting how difficult they can be to shift.

The Haradrim could do nothing but harass Theoden’s unit and my Raiders were circling around the left flank to try to flank/rear charge the advancing horsemen. With Theoden stuck in a wood virtually all game I couldn’t shift them with lowly Haradrim but proceeded to make my presence known on the rest of the field. We called the game at around 2.00pm so we could go get some lunch, unfortunately for nBreaker there wasn’t a lot of the forces from the Riddermark left while Sauron’s allies were at virtually full strength.

It was a good game and a lot of fun, it was nice to see how my army has developed and the increase in understanding of how the game plays and what is effective. It is also interesting to look at combinations of stuff, I know there is a lot of Internet whining (give me a subject where this isn’t the case) regarding some of the broken combinations available but I don’t think we’ve come across that yet. We are enjoying the game and while I can see areas where you could pimp an army out to being a little disgusting I am hoping that our players will keep making tough lists but without trying to “spike” their lists.

Eventually the Elves did turn up, late as usual, but their hair was suitably long and glossy, after swapping appreciations for fetching handbag and shoe combinations they even got into a few scrapes, but that’s a story for another day and another author. I was just watching from the sidelines while they macarana’d their way across the tabletop battlefields of Middle Earth.

