We Be Playing War Of The Ring, And I Be Painting Uruk Hai With The Army Painter


As ZombiePirateXXX has already mentioned we played our inaugral battle of ‘War Of The Ring’ last Thursday at Castle Carabus.

It was pretty entertaining, and it seems like a smooth, flowing system. Magic and heroes seem important but do not appear to be game breaking as I feel they are in Warhammer Fantasy.

Some things I have learned are – put you troops in long lines, so you have maximum frontage available to fight if required. We still have some outstanding queries regarding the rules, for example, in an ongoing fight do the forces seperate and leave the fight at the end of a turn, only to have to re-charge next turn, or do they stay in the fight until it’s over? I am sure we will find out soon enough.

As for my deal with ZombiePirateXXX – that I wouldn’t buy anything until he has his army painted and based, well that went out the window when I saw and bought the Isengard army deal of the year on eBay. Anyway, in one swoop I picked up pretty much everything I need. Bargains! As for ZombiePirateXXX getting his stuff finished – he has assured me he will. He has already finished seven models at my last count, hopefully that tally will steadily increase!

So with renewed vigour and second hand models to paint I set about doing a bit of Army Painter dippage over the weekend. Here are the results:

Uruk Hai Speed Painting

At gaming distances these look pretty presentable, and I feel I am getting the hang of The Army Painter techniques. In all I finished 24 Uruk Hai in one session.

The technique:

1) Assemble and grit bases as required
2) Black spray undercoat
3) Heavy drybrush mithril silver
3) Paint bases and flesh Burnt Umber
4) Retouch black areas appropriately
5) Paint details on shields and drybrush bases in Bleached Bone
6) Army Painter strong tone dip and shake

I will probably add some patchy static grass long term to finish these off. Next up I will do a few testers for the millions of wargs I now own!

3 thoughts on “We Be Playing War Of The Ring, And I Be Painting Uruk Hai With The Army Painter”

      1. I went into Questing Knight and asked Alan, they have over 30 players of the game purchasing out of that store so I thought it a good place to ask when I was in there buying my second muma….wait….dammit!

Comments are closed.