Malifaux – The Guild go Hippy


In what may turn out to be a horrible abuse of the commandment “Remember the Sabbath Day and keep it holy” the 6 Inch Movers once more descended on Servitob’s gaming mansion to avail ourselves of some fun. Having ditched Mrs Servitob to the rigours of choir practice and myself finally having gotten around to some dinner due to a Fast weekend, we packed my car up with some bits and pieces for Malifaux and spent the evening in a 4-player 2 per side mass scrap.

This was the first time we’d played Malifaux to this scale and we also had a new player on each side who were learning the ropes, with hindsight I would not recommend this as the way to teach new players. While Malifaux’s rules are very simple at their heart, everything being resolved via the duel mechanic, the vast amount of special abilities with each of the models takes a little preparation and getting used to. I’d definitely recommend just going with starter sets in the future for showing people the ropes.

Our match involved an all Guild turnout of nBreaker and Gribblin, playing Lady Justice and Sonnia Criid respectively, going up against temporary allies in the form of myself and blog commenter CaRaBuS playing Seamus and Rasputina. We all made a few modifications to the starting crew, Sonnia took her Purifying Flame Totem along with the starter crew, LadyJ dropped a Death Marshall to take Nino Ortega and the Scales of Justice while Seamus dropped Madame Sybelle and a Rotten Belle in order to fit in the Convict Gunslinger and a Hanged. Rasputina decided not to create a third Ice Gamin but took along a December Acolyte.

The two teams had a scheme to achieve between them but we used an activation order for each individual crew, also, all spells could only affect your own crew with the exception of anything that would catch things in a blast of course. Our team flipped for the strategy and ended up with Reconnoiter, we needed a model in each of the four table quarters to claim 4 VPs or in three to claim 2 VPs. Gribblin and nBreaker pulled Claim Jump and we placed a 5″ by 5″ forest in the middle of the table, they needed to own it completely to get their 4VPs or outnumber us for 2VPs. With hindsight the nest time we get this Strategy we are not going to use a forest, it made it a lot harder for any of us to do anything with it, it would be better to try to use a building and some fences or something like that.

We flipped for deployment and ended up with Diagonals, for the number of models we had we decided that this would be horrifically cramped so decided to go with a corners deployment instead, which wasn’t actually all that much better. My only real gripe with Malifaux is that we are playing on a 4′ by 4′ board and even with the number of models we were using it still takes a little while to get close for combat. I know that 3′ by 3′ is the proper size for games at this level but larger is fine if you extend the deployment zones by a few inches, this may be something we test or house rule for the coming engagements. Also, even though this was a game to show people the ropes I am starting to understand why Schemes can be quite important, those secondary objectives can keep you in the game if the primary mission goes up the creek.

I’m not going to go into a blow-by-blow account, we called the game due to time in the middle of turn 5 with the Guild posse holding the Jump despite being petrified to the spot due to fear of the Undead as well as the fact Rasputina had turned the wood into a giant ice-cube using her Freeze Over action. I’ll go over the highlights of the match and then offer my thoughts on the game and the models involved. This was the second time for my Seamus crew but I had a lot more experience with Rasputina and knew what to expect (somewhat) from Lady Justice and her gang. I have never seen Sonnia Criid so knew not what she was capable of.

The first few turns saw me dither  about what to do with the Conflict Gunslinger, the whole game was a little cagey to be honest of no-one diving right on it and getting stuck in, I think I need to play more aggressively as Seamus is really tough to take down and can heal himself back quite easily. Moving the Gunslinger back and forth meant he didn’t even get a shot off all game so was effectively a wasted model. The only models of mine that did anything were Seamus, one of the Belles who died and was brought back and the Hanged.

My first Rotten Belle failed to do anything until she got shot and died, after being brought back she cast Lure on a Death Marshall who failed to resist and walked right towards the Belle and, more importantly, into range of Seamus who promptly shot him and then pounded him to death with spells healing the wounds he had taken earlier. The Hanged floated into the frozen wood and targeted Lady Justice with a Call from Beyond and knocked off half her wounds in one fell swoop, this was after she had stepped foot into the wood which spent two turns frozen, stopping her from moving as well as being affected by Seamus’ Undead Psychosis. The Hanged himself took a lot of wounds and eventually died, even though we realised halfway through combat that he was a Spirit and only suffered half wounds from non-magical sources. The rest of my crew did nothing.

The December Acolyte one shotted a healthy Death Marshall with his Harpoon gun, the first time the Acolyte had been used and had tied up a flank for the majority of the game, his 12″ range proving to be quite beneficial. Nino Ortega proved his worth again by killing a Belle on his own in one turn, I hate that guy. Sonnia Criid unleashed a massive flame burst, ignoring the Ice Pillars that Rasputina had cast and with my nice crew all bunched together did a massive amount of damage across my crew. Seamus healed himself continuously but the rest of my crew spent a lot of time damaged. I need to look at my options again as to what to take. It really was a game of dancing around each other rather than going hell for leather and getting stuck in, as I know how dangerous Seamus is I think I need to be more bold in getting him stuck in to something and back him up with his Belles. I may also drop Madame Sybelle back in for the buffs she brings to the Belles and the board control options. The Convict Gunslinger can do a massive amount of damage but the other team knew this and with my own poor use of the model he did nothing at all which hindered me. I think we also spent too much time trying to deny the Guild their objective before moving towards ours. With the Belles close by they and Seamus can move really quickly across the board.

Although we technically lost due to the time the game was called it certainly was one of those games that leaves me with a lot to think about with how I play and what I need to take along with me. Expect Seamus to have a few different tricks the next time and I am really thinking that I might squeeze in a totem…

One thought on “Malifaux – The Guild go Hippy”

  1. Interesting game, thanks to all for putting it on!

    There was a lot to take in and as mentioned, it took a while to get into combat range, perhaps I should have also been aggressive and get stuck in but I was unsure (being a noob at this game) of what the ramifications would be, would I survive?

    I found it fairly complex, not the mechanics themselves but more the amount of special rules that the individuals have, it reminded me of Confrontation and the more advanced versions of Warmachine with epic characters. Enjoyable but I think we barley scratched the surface.

    I really liked the miniatures, and that is what really drew to the game in the first place. They are stunning miniature and I am sure a painter dream, tempted to get one or two just to paint!

    However it’s always good to try to something new, I appreciate the time everyone took to show me the ropes, I look forward to the next game, whatever and whenever that may be.

    CaRaBuS

Comments are closed.