Paypal – Placating my Wife and Saving our Bank Account


Preparations for War of the Ring are continuing apace. Despite my wife rolling her eyes at the mention of another game that we are looking at I believe I am appeasing her through the marvels of my Paypal balance.

Financing an army for any game will obviously require funding. Depending on which game you are playing the exact amount will vary, certain armies will also require more or less expenditure if they are more horde oriented or elites. What you also find is that many miniature gamers (people who play with miniatures, not folks of a diminutive stature) have more models than you can shake a stick at. I know I have and therefore many of these have sat on shelves, unloved and unused except for the brief excitement that caused me to purchase them in the first place.

There comes a time when you have to make some harsh decisions regarding your collection. I thinned myself out a few years ago by getting rid of an awful lot of stuff, this allowed my 40k Orks to come to life as well as my Warhammer Daemons and the latest addition of my Space Wolves. Last year’s model sales allowed me to buy over 2000pts of Skaven, a lot of which has been auctioned off to bolster my Paypal balance. It is this rolling fund that I use for my purchases. As something comes up that I want I evaluate all the stuff I have and get rid of that which I don’t want. Currently this means that as well as the remnants of my Skaven I also want to get rid of my Daemons (I have some 40k as well as Fantasy models for this army), my Space Wolves (prefer my Orks), my Hordes Skorne and I have already sold my Infinity models. I am probably going to keep my Warmachine Elves as well as the current batch of Malifaux stuff as I really like that game system and it fills my skirmish itch.

From the stuff I have already sold I have placed an order for a lot of stuff to bolster my War of the Ring. Everything I currently have is sprayed and my command groups have arrived recently and need assembling. I will paint these either side of finishing formations to break things up. There is a grand total of 4 boxes of infantry that are left to get to complete my 1000pts and I will not get these until my balance provides the funds for this. Not only does this stop me from being swamped with models it also allows me to save our bank account from the raping it would get otherwise. Thus is my long-suffering wife placated that although models are coming in, they are going out as well and the quantity going out exceeds that which is coming in. Thinning my herd like this will also help that I can focus on playing certain games with my friends, although it is nice to have variety we already have much more than we can easily play without setting aside specific times to play. We are all very excited about War of the Ring though and I haven’t seen this level of anticipation for a long time and it probably exceeds that which we felt for 5th edition 40k.

I should also be on holiday next week and am hoping to get through a large portion of all the Haradrim and Easterlings I have. A finished unit might allow me to win some games due to the spontaneous combustion of disbelieving opponents.

