Monday Morning 40k – 6 Inch Move Style


Yeah, I know what you’re thinking, no posts for ages and then you get two posts within moments of each other!

For various reasons that are frankly none of your business, I took Monday off from work. Being one of the minority in our gaming group that actually works a proper week I normally don’t have the luxury of slobbing around, so Gribblin, Servitob and I decided the best way to spend that time was to crack out the 40k armies and have a bit of a rumble.

I spent Sunday night writing up some new lists as we were going to be playing with 1000pts lists. I knew that Servitob was going to be using his Blood Angels for the first time, so I put a pen to paper and came up with a Space Wolves list as well as a bit of a try-out Ork list. I’ll post up the Ork list I used first as these are the guys I went with against Servitob.

Big Mek – Shokk Attack Gun and Cybork Body

10 Lootas

3 Mega Nobz – 2 Combi-rokkits

30 Shoota Boyz – Nob with Power Klaw and Bosspole

30 Shoota Boyz – Nob with Power Klaw and Bosspole

5 Flash Gitz – Shootier, More Dakka

Never used the Gitz before but thought about giving them a try, after all, 24″ Str 6 Assault 2 guns seem like a good investment before looking at the potential of the D6 AP. This is also the first outing of my 30 Boyz mobs, going with all Shootas as well, sure I lose the 1 attack from the slugga Boyz but hopefully this will be balanced by the much better shooting capacity on the way over.

I let Servitob pick his table edge and go first, we rolled a Seize Ground with 4 objectives and Pitched Battle for deployment. Servitob then placed a Vindicator, Baal Predator, Death Company Razorback and a normal Razorback and that was it. Understandably it took me a little longer, everything I had went on the board meaning at the start of the game I outnumbered him over 15 to 1. I failed to seize the initiative (not that I really wanted it though). Servitob rolled his tank army forward, the Baal Predator opened up on the Big Mek who lost a wound (he was deployed in cover) and the Vindicator scattered to kill 3 Boyz. in return the Boyz all moved forwards supported on the right flank by the footslogging Mega Nobz and the Flash Gitz. The Lootas sat at the table edge in my deployment zone minding their own business. The Big Mek didn’t blow himself up (for a change) and rolled 8 for the strength of his shot and even though he hit the Baal Predator he fluffed the penetration roll, in hindsight I should have picked on the other vehicles rather than the AV13 Predator.

Due to an appalling memory I can’t provide a blow by blow for the rest of the battle, however, here are the highlights of the game, there are effectively 2 objectives on each half of the table, I held my two from turn two through to the end. Hail of fire from the Lootas takes out the gun on the Vindicator, it stays put the whole rest of the game. Five tactical Mariness plus a Librarian disembark from their Razorback, the vehicle then tank shocks the Mega Nobz. I pass the morale test and then proceed to Tiger Uppercut the Razorback wrecking it. The Mega Nobz went into the Librarians squad and focussed on the Psyker, he took a couple of hits and was Instant Deathed. The Nobz were then seen off by the power fist wielding sergeant but their job had been completed. The Flash Gitz generally shot stuff up before dying to the Marines, the Power Fist did for them but it didn’t help when fighting the Marines that I forgot they are Nobs and have 2W each….

The Death Company Razorback pulled a hand brake turn in front of my right most objective and disembarked. I then charged a squad of Boyz in there and after a flurry of attacks they were all dead before the Nob even got a chance to swing, good work Boyz.

Servitob forgot to roll for his Terminator for 3 turns, when he finally did they arrived right in front of the lootas. A nice juicy target of 6 Thunder Hammer/Storm Shield Marines watched as the whole of my surviving Orks (by then the Mek was dead as were the Mega Nobz and the Flash Gitz) turned around and shot, first the Lootas then the two Boyz mobs, in the end only a single Terminator was left and then got raped by the two Boyz mobs charging into close combat.

All that was left was the untouched Baal Predator and a Razorback. Servitob had moved everything back away from my army leaving me sat on the two objectives I’d held since the beginning of the battle. Once again my Boyz didn’t let me down, they kept plugging away and even with a lack of ranged armour busting weaponry pulled out a decent win. Sure, Servitob’s list wasn’t great, even so Orks have a problem popping high armour unless they make it into combat and fast vehicles zooming all over the place aren’t easy to hit. It was a fun game though and has given me things to think about for army composition in the future.

The second game saw me take my Space Wolves against Gribblin’s almost never seen Tau. This could not have gone more differently than my previous game. Again, here’s my list;

Njal Stormcaller

5 Terminator Wolf Guard with various weapons, incl Heavy Flamer

10 Grey Hunters with 2 Meltaguns and a Power Fist

10 Grey Hunters with 2 Plasma Guns and a Power Fist

5 Long Fangs with 2 Missile Launchers and 2 Lascannons

We rolled Annihilation and Pitched Battle, I took a table edge and deployed first, Gribblin managed to seize initiative in a game where it really cost me not going first. First turn I lose half of the Plasma Grey Hunters, can’t pass a 3+ save at all, my dice have deserted me. Njal gets headshotted by the Hammerhead at the top of turn 2, will put him in a squad next time, if I take him again at all. My Long Fangs hit often but cannot roll more than a 1 or a 2 on their penetration rolls, and whatever I roll is saved by disruption pods anyway. Meltagun Grey Hunters kill off Pathfinders in close combat then get shot up in the following turn leaving a single Meltagun armed Grey Hunter alive on the table, in an action that sums up how the game went he moves behind a Devilfish, hits the rear armour with his gun, penetrates and rolls a 1. I call the game there at the end of turn 5 without rolling for another turn, I have 1 kill point to Gribblin’s 4. The Terminators got shot by Battlesuits and then died in combat to Kroot…. very embarrassing, lots of 1’s for armour saves there.

It was all over rather quickly. Every time I sit down to 40k I always sit there in awe of the advantages other armies have over me and worry about my weaknesses, however, even at the very worst of times my Orks have never let me down. Sure the SAG Mek likes to blow himself up and I haven’t won all my games, My PK Nobs may miss most of the time with their attacks but overall the army seems to perform well for me. I think it’s time to evict the Space Wolves and focus more on my Greenskins, at least until the new Dark Eldar codex arrives. If those models are good then everyone already knows they will have a new army to face, if not however, I think I have a very green future ahead of me.

