Malifaux: Death Marshals Vs Cult of December


Looks like I am finally going to get around to telling the story of our first Malifaux game almost a week after it happened. I said I’d post up my view of how things went and so I will do that. It is also looking like there may be another post this afternoon as I want to get something off my chest.

We played our game on a 4′ by 4′ table, I have modular boards so this makes things easy in this regard. There was a low hill on my left flank well back near the board edge, ahead of it was a small wood with another hill just beyond it on the other half of the field. To my right was a house up near the halfway line with a low wall almost next to it. On nBreaker’s side of the field he had a number of walls and rubble fields that would provide him cover heading up the field.

Deployment was quick after we had rolled for Schemes. We both ended up with Reconnoiter, we would get 4 VPs for having a model in each table quarter (nice and easy with a modular board that shows the split here) and 2 VPs if we could only get into three of the four quarters. As this was our first game we didn’t add any strategies in.

I put one of my Ice Gamin on the far left flank and then deployed almost line abreast with a second Gamin, the Ice Golem, Tina and the final Gamin  heading to the right flank. My plan was to use the two Gamin on the flanks to just leg it as fast as they could around the flanks and head for my opponents deployment as he pressed forward to get into my half of the table. I was then hoping that Tina, the Golem and the spare Gamin would be able to hold up the opposing force to net me the greater VPs by turn 6.

After taking the initiative flip I got to go first, the one problem with the Cult of December is that both Tina and the Ice Golem are slow, with a Walk of 3″ and a charge of 6″. Charging would end my activation so most of the time I was using two walk actions. However, with Tina being a Casting Expert she gets an extra action point every turn to be used for casting. You would not believe how much of a bonus this is, it may be just one action point and you may have to use it for casting but it is an amazing ability that allows far more mileage out of the Master. While our first two turns were maneuvering each turn I cast Ice Pillars, this places two 50mm pillars of ice anywhere within 12″ of the caster. Although they can be destroyed this allows you to channel your opponents by creating your own terrain. If they do get destroyed (they block line of sight) then they shatter and leave behind terrain that will slow the enemy (and you) down. If you are primarily ranged like Tina is then slowing down your foe is a good thing.

Eventually we closed together, the Death Marshalls, Lady J and the Judge were all converging on the middle of the field in turn 3 and I had my one Gamin still running left, one running right and my “main” force sitting in the middle so that they could move either way to secure the home quarters depending on how combat went. The one problem with writing this report is remembering the exact order in how things went but I’ll go through it quite quickly as that is how the game went once we got to this point. Through using the Ice Pillars Lady J was a little ahead of the rest of her force, with no ranged options to go on I closed up with Tina and decided to see how her offensive casting had gone. I had used one walk action leaving me with one general action point and one casting action point from her Casting Expert(+1) ability. So, off I went with her nuke spell its casting cost was 14 so I flipped and got a 7 iirc. I then used a soulstone to boost it and got a 12, with my cast of 7 I easily had the 14 I needed and then some. With the suits from the extra Soulstone flip I also had the requirements for the Overpower trigger. nBreaker failed his resist duel and I flipped for damage, it was moderate so dealt 4 damage to Lady J, then we resolved the second casting due to Overpower. This also went through with moderate damage, leaving the Guild’s Undead killer with 4 wounds remaining. I still had my last action point and cast the same spell for a third time, showing an amazing display of consistency I cheated fate on a low card and got this cast off as well, no Trigger but another moderate damage flip sent Lady J dropping to the ground with a severe case of chill blains. I was amazed that she went down so quick and so was nBreaker.

Over the next turn the Death Marshalls plinked the Ice Golem for a load of damage, even with his armour nBrekaer managed to get some Triggers off with reduced him to one wound. Tina managed to do some damage through her spells and I got to use the ranged options from my minions to throw some stuff around but it didn’t amount too much damage overall. I used the one Gamin to screen Tina from too much reprisals and continued to run the other Gamin along the flanks. The Judge got into position in turn 4 and charged into the Gamin and Ice Golem. He did some damage but didn’t kill anything, next the Death Marshalls sought to finish the Golem and passed their Willpower duel to fire into combat. The Golem was hit and killed, which meant he shattered and the damage from this finished off the Judge who had been taking ranged beatings from the Gamin and Golem.

Tina then proceeded to chuck spells at the Death Marshalls and the blasts from a Severe damage flip finished them off in turn 5, leaving just one Death Marshall alive, hanging on by a thread. nBreaker conceded at this point and we shook hands on a battle well fought.

I had lost the Golem but that was it. I look forward to our next game now we know what we are doing, I imagine things will be much different now we have a clue how the game plays.

