Captain Birdseye’s Xbox 360 of COD and Modern Warfare 2


So finally I struck Xbox (live) gold. Call it very late in the day to be a real fan but I finally got my hands on Modern Warfare 2 on the Xbox 360. My last attempts were foiled when I took some old COD titles to my local gaming shop and managed to exchange them for Bayonetta. That shopkeeper is a sly one! But hey, I was not at all disappointed, in fact I blogged about it *here*. Several weeks of insane gameplay later and I finally completed it (after giving God a good kicking – Bayonetta is that kind of game!). So with wifely permission I set off again to my friendly local retailer who this time was willing to let me buy MW2.

Now then, the first thing I noticed is that the bloke from MW2 doesn’t have guns in his shoes. Bad times. Also he doesn’t wear librarian glasses. And his hair cannot morph into enormous demons and eat his foes. Nor does he ever get naked, and he completely fails to walk on any ceilings. Hopefully then you can understand my initial disappointment with this title. However, I was willing to persevere through these flaws…

Honestly, this game is amazing! So yeah, you guys have been loving this title for ages, but seriously, wow! This is what Xbox Live was made for! First person shooters have never felt so good! For those of you who have been living under a rock for the last few years, here is a a brief summary of how the Call Of Duty games go: If you are awesome: Move, shoot, kill. If you are a noob (like me): Move, bang, look at ceiling. I won’t go into complete review mode, but just mention why I think this particular game stands out, and why you should play it on Xbox.

Why Xbox 360?

So I have a friend, who is a PC nut. All multiplayer shooty games should be played on a PC. Well I say he is incorrect, probably even elitist, and by being so he is missing a major trick. A good gaming PC could whup an Xbox 360 any day. And that is the problem. If I am crap at a game I could feasibly go out, spend a large wedge of green on hardware and internet to give me an advantage. I can buy my way to victory. Failing that, I could run bots and hacks and win that way. Us Xbox 360 players don’t have these issues. The playing field is level, everyone has the same gear. If you beat me it is because you are better than me. If I beat you it is because I was lucky or you goofed up. As for how it compares to the Playstation 3 version, I don’t know. My experience is that most titles are of similar standards across both platforms. However PS3 online is free, Xbox live costs money. An important life lesson I have learned is that you get what you pay for… Beyond that I couldn’t possibly comment!

What Makes It A Great COD?

It’s breathtakingly exciting in it’s single player mode. It’s the kind of game that has you trying to dodge the bullets by moving your head (and by the looks of things that might be the only exercise some players get). It’s a non stop rollercoaster with a good storyline. Take it to multiplayer and we are in a different league. Multiplayer is where it’s at. When I was a kid I used to play ‘army’ a lot with my little buddies. We would run around, hide in bushes with pretend guns and make dakka noises at each other all day. Nowadays I am far too respectable and unfit to pull any such kind of stunt, but with MW2 I don’t need to. I can now be Rambo in a vitual world, and get shot at by people from every country. The great thing is though, it doesn’t really matter anymore if you are a little slow on the controls. If you fluff things up a lot, the game almost pats you on the head and sends you back outside like your mum used to. Bad players get special perks after three deaths which are pretty powerful to allow them to stand a chance. Also, when you do finally made a kill the game cheers and claps and showers you in xp beyond the wildest dreams of decent players. You get xp for killing the enemy, bonus xp for finally aiming straight, bonus xp for getting your revenge on those pesky good players and so on. It really does try to appeal to every gamer, and on the whole I think it succeeds.

2 thoughts on “Captain Birdseye’s Xbox 360 of COD and Modern Warfare 2”

Comments are closed.