Battle Missions and New Models


Rumours have circulated around the Internet for some time regarding a Battle Missions book and Games Workshop finally acknowledged this with this weeks newsletter. It also provided some interesting previews for some new 40k models.

I'z ded killy guv
Grots in a dustbin

There was also a preview of a new Venerable Dreadnaught kit but as Space Marines are such a marginalised and rarely faced opponent I didn’t bother posting anything up. I look forward to the battle missions book as there will be stuff in there specifically catered to the individual armies which will make for some interesting games. However, I feel the major need here is to address the pricing that GW have slapped on these new models. Now, I have some Orks and although I am a big supporter of the “moar boyz” approach to problem solving that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate some armour. I have two Killa Kans already and they have performed admirably for me, however, there just isn’t room for them in my current list. The new box contains 3 for £27 and I consider this to be good value, I consider the Ravener box to be pricey for what you get but maybe this is just down to the points values of the respective units. Three gribbly alien gophers cost a lot less than three stompy grot dustbins so my perception of price is more favourable when looking at the Kans.

However, we have a problem when it comes to the Deff Dread. I do not own one currently, the £35 price tag puts me off considering what it’s worth in-game. Although I own three Greater Daemons which cost the same kind of price… go figure. Now, brace yourselves, this plastic kit is……….. £30, a massive five-pound saving on the current metal figure. It’s a nice looking model but at that price point I still find myself thinking I probably won’t get one. The normal Marine dread is £25 and I can stomach paying that but that slight increase just gives me pause. I am sure there are a raft of options on the sprues but I feel GW have missed a trick here. Had they priced it at £25 I reckon they’d have flown off the shelves, but now, even without considering the general expense making an Ork army incurs, I don’t think people are going to rush out and buy it. I have the funds if I wanted to but it’s £30, I can take my wife out for dinner for that much or get a full-sized unit of something for the same price. Maybe I’m just wired wrong but it is not much  cheaper enough than the metal one to make me stand up and get over to the local gaming store to grab one. I can definitely see me increasing my Kan contingent though, 9 in 1500pts could be interesting.

