Random Dungeon Tool is Random (and awesome)


A slight diversion from our regular programming I’m afraid. Although we here at 6 Inch Move are more focussed upon all things tabletop that doesn’t mean we don’t enjoy the diversions of the virtual medium. Several of us play World of Warcraft and all of the current authors have played at one time or another.

Last week the latest patch (3.3) hit and brought with it some major changes to the premier MMO. This was in the guise of the new LFG (looking for group) tool and after having some experiences with it thought I’d jot down my thoughts.

I first fired up the tool on my main character, a Blood Elf Discipline Priest. Being a healer normally means you are in demand so finding a group sometimes isn’t really that hard, however, with the new tool I just tick the healer box, wait a couple minutes tops and then BAM! I’m in a group off to a random dungeon. I managed to run 5 Heroics on the first night using the tool, in around 3 hours so it wasn’t bad at all, I picked up some achievements I hadn’t gotten as well as doing some places I’d either never been on this toon or never yet completed. I had a lot of fun with it and the extra rewards you get for using the tool have allowed me to grab my first piece of Tier 9 gear, upgrading my aging blue shoulders to something a little more Epic (pun intended).

On Saturday I also used the tool on my Death Knight and performed my first tanking run. It was hard work but I enjoyed it and am looking forward to throwing my tanking druid into the same thing tonight for a change of pace. I have to say that Blizzard have done a grand job of making the process of getting groups for instances a lot easier and better. I’ll still be questing on my non max level alts but if I can run 2 or 3 instances a night I reckon I’ll get through the levels a lot faster than if I was questing and the gear will be there as well.

If you haven’t tried the new system yet it’s definitely worth a look. I just need to make sure that I take time out to do some painting though rather than sit in front of the screen firing pretty healing bolts at people.

