Hello world


It would appear that through some strange circumstances I have ended up becoming the latest blogger contributing to 6inchmove. So first of all I would like to blame thank ZombiePirate, Servitob and Gribblin for spending my hard-earned cash introducing me to this rather interesting world of geekery.

I am new to the whole, build a tiny army, paint said tiny army, then take shiny tiny army to war and then get spanked considerably well, thing. So my posts are going to be from the perspective of a noob being forced to participate gently eased into the hobby.

As the undead pirate himself stated earlier, a little Dragon Lords fleet appeared at the last concentration of the geek forces. At the time the poor little guys looked rather white, and not just because their frail little wooden ships were staring down the turrets of two different types of drunken dwarves packed into ironclads like sardines. They were also lacking in the sails department, so I’m not entirely sure how they were able to move (I blame black magic personally, they do ignore the wind after all). However that last part has been rectified this week  and with a touch of the ol’ epoxy there are now sails attached to the fleet!

dragon lords

I probably chose the hardest of the Uncharted Seas fleets to start with. The sails just sit on the resin ships without any pins or inserts to hold them, so it took some work to get the sails to sit upright of their own accord. All of them, except the middle sails on the cruisers, had more support as they sat over a lip to give some vertical support. The cruisers middle sails have none of this so they had to rely on how flat the base of the sails were and this made them a little tricky to get just right. The sails were a bit too thin to put a pin in without risk of damaging them, at least for my first time doing this stuff, but eventually the tender caress of a file got them to how they should be and a touch of epoxy now holds them in place.

Spraying them will obviously be my next task but as its rather dark at night when I get in from work it looks like its going to be the weekend before I can get anything else done to them /cry. I guess it gives me time to think about the important things in life, like a colour scheme. This will also be my first time painting models which could be quite interesting. Ironically, I really did not like art at school back in the day… So the question is how did I end up doing this? Meh, beats me.

In other news, I have also decided to pick up a Dwarf army to start Warhammer. My main reason for choosing them was, well, they look good. Whats the point in building and painting something you dont like the look of? After reading up on them they seem like a solid start and I am liking some of the Runes they can take with them. I won’t be starting painting the midgets with hammers and ale until after getting my fingers dirty with the Dragon Lords first.

Anyway, thats enough rant for a first post, so expect more from me in the near future.

