You Knew It Was Coming….


Ability_gougeLong time readers will no doubt be sitting on tenterhooks as they await the public and visceral berating of Gouge Workshop for daring to release a new version of the rules, slightly more expensive than the last!

Fanbois everywhere will scream from the rooftops “wait for the small book in the box set” or “they’ll release just a plain rulebook like they did for 6th.” Or other such declarations of support.

60040199041_40kStandardEdition01

I will admit that the new 40k book looks very shiny and nice. Of course I’m not convinced of it being £50 of nice. For the same price I can get a starter set for pretty much every other game under the sun a long with the rules. I still know that people are going to buy it, it’s your money and you are entitled to spend it how you will. For me though, this is the first edition of 40k I’ll never buy. I’ve been in this hobby for the entirety of my adult life and most of my formative years as well. I still remember every time we went to the Merry Hill Centre when I was younger that my dad would take me into GW. So, dear wife, if you are reading this, it’s your father-in-laws fault that the disposable income dries up!

Yes, this book isn’t that much more expensive than the old one, but this constant creep has to stop, there has to be a point where it is unsustainable and for me, personally, it’s been reached. As I mentioned in another post this is sad for me. I’ve spent so much time around the GW IP that I don’t like leaving it, but sadly, this is the only way that I can register my displeasure at a company that no longer provides something I am happy to pay for. Again, I am only one man and a very small drop in the ocean of customers that GW still maintain.

In finishing my discourse on GW I will say that all the “hatred” I’ve been accused of isn’t that way. Imagine watching something that you love, something you’ve invested a lot of your life into, slowly crash and burn and there’s not a thing you can do about it other than walk away. It’s that sadness and pity that I feel. GW has lost what made it great in the pursuit of a larger bottom line. While I understand that it’s a business and it needs to make money, there is a point where becoming a faceless corporation turns the customer away.

It might not be too late for someone to turn the business around. However, with the competition having gotten better and needing far less of my hard-earned pennies to get into, I can’t see a way back for me personally.

For those that also play Fantasy, I’m not sure how folks feel being asked to spend £100 just for the rules for both games. Unless a Qatari magnate and went for the Munitions set…… that’s just insane and yet I know there are people who will have pre-ordered it.

4 thoughts on “You Knew It Was Coming….”

  1. A great post and reflects many of my own feelings on the matter – Like you, I’m reluctantly walking away from something which I’ve spent the last 20 years enjoying, and the expenditure required is now past the point where I can justify it.

  2. I feel your pain. 40k was the first miniature game I ever played and warhammer will always be a happy part of my childhood. It sucks that it has come to this but when a company is seriously going to charge you 20 dollars for a single tool which goes for a buck on ebay? I was willing to pay a little more for the minis because of the fluff and the universe but these days there are so many competitors which will give me more bang for my buck. Not only that but these little companies like Hasslefree or Hawk or whoever are the sort of companies that I want to support.

Comments are closed.